Burn All The Boats!

Hernando Cortés is an name that illicits a lot of anger among some people. But in my book he is a man whom we all need to learn from. In 1519, Cortés left the island of Cuba in search of Gold and Riches. Many had gone before him with similar dreams and had not succeeded, but Cortés was determined to go back to Cuba rich.

When Hernando Cortés landed on the South American coast he ordered his men to burn all the boats they had used to sail there from Cuba. Cortés eye was on the wealth of the Aztecs and nothing was going to stop him. After the boats were burnt there was no looking back. In the end, he attained his goal.

What is it that you want to be.

What thing have you wanted to accomplish?

What are you willing to do to make your dream’s come true?

Are you willing to look into your life and decide to take that daring step to burn your boat so that you will have no choice but to attain your goal?

As a child I remember that whenever I got home from school at the end of my school year, I would hand my report form to my father who would always glance at it and say, “Son, there is always room for improvement.”

I urge you to step back, and look at what you have or have not achieved then realize that there is always room for improvement.

2 responses to “Burn All The Boats!

  1. Thanks a lot Rags. This is just about the best thing to read first thing Monday morning. It reminds me to push harder and stop being too comfortable. To burn my boats………

    Thanks.

  2. passing by…

Leave a Reply

