African’s Vs African-American’s

We all talk about each other. I for one am fascinated by how culture affects how we interact with each other. One thing that we African immigrants do is talk about a strange group of people called African Americans. It is no secret that there is some animosity between Africans and African Americans.

If I had the courage, I would walk up to an African American and ask the following questions on behalf of a minority of my continent mates;

  • So, what exactly do you want to call yourselves? Is it African-American, Ameri-Nubian, Black-American, Tanned American, Mzungu, Mzungu Mweusi?
  • I don’t understand why you say, “teef” instead of teeth, and “truuf” instead of truth. Is English really that hard?
  • I am yet to find and African American who flat out caims to have black/African in them. Most usually say “I am half Native-American” “I am half French” or even, “I ain’t from Africa!” They forget that to the other races they all are…..black.
  • Why do you have to be so loud and dramatic!
  • Why do you have to insist on naming your kids “African” names like DeAndre, DeJuan, DeShawn, JuMichael, Keyshawn, Latonya, LaShonda, Lashawn, T’Keyah, YaSheema, and Latrina.
  • What’s up with spending thousands on “pimping” an old car while you live on food stamps?
  • Why do you look down on those of you who speak proper English?
  • I think Chitterlings are just nasty, now that that’s off my chest, wanna eat some chicken feet?
  • Please, I beg of you, tell me more about Dr. Guion Stewart Bluford Jr, Blanche Kelso Bruce, Shirley Chisholm, Mae C. Jemison, and Rosa Parks. Whats that? You only know Rosa Parks? I thought so.
  • Stop blaming the white man for everything.
  • Just because I speak with an accent doesn’t mean that I think with an accent.

Click here if you want to check out my PASSION.

2 responses to “African’s Vs African-American’s

  1. I think a visit to the States is definitely in the cards just to see this creature known as African American….I have heard so much about their good side and their bad side, I think I need to see, hear and experience for myself.

  2. Find your courage…and maybe just maybe you can share your find….

    btw – what’s wrong with thinking with an accent? lol:-)

Leave a Reply

