3 Common Mistakes Made When Taking Pictures.

The other day, a friend showed me a picture she took of her daughter. I looked at it and responded in the most politically correct way, I said, “Awwwww!” What I really was thinking was, “You call that a picture? My 99 year old legally blind grandma takes better pictures.”

What makes a good image? Well I will tell you what makes a bad image.

From a distance
Some of us are afraid to move closer to the people we are taking pictures of. The truth is that most people who want their pictures taken don’t bite. I would understand if you are taking pictures of a person who hasn’t showered for a decade or even one who’s breath stinks but if that is not the case, get closer to the subject!

Long distance shots are uninteresting and include elements that are a distraction. Take for instance this image. There is a crate, cars and a generator in the image. Are they all necessary? I don’t think so.

Chopping heads off
I don’t know how many times I have seen this kind of picture. When I do, usually think, either the photographer had the dog take the pictures, or they were not taking the time to look into the view finder.

Cutting heads and bodies off should be considered a crime and the ones who do it should do some time. I’m just joking. But seriously, don’t decapitate the people you are taking pictures of.

Dark dudes and dudettes.

Never, and I repeat, never take a picture when the sun is at the back of the person you are taking the pictures of. The result is almost always a silhouette. Always have the people you are taking pics of turn so that the sun hits their face. Though black is beautiful, too much black will make the only thing recognizable in the picture is the persons dental formula (teeth).

A good image is…
relative. What I mean, is that it is in the eyes of the beholder. I personally think that the image below is good.

Some other person may look at it and say, “You call that a picture? My 99 year old legally blind chimpanzee takes better pictures!”

Anyway, my hope is that you found this blog informative. For more info about my work check out my photo blog at http://vividpics.aminus3.com/ , my STORE, as well as my other blog http://ragskanyi.wordpress.com/

2 responses to “3 Common Mistakes Made When Taking Pictures.

  1. off to check site. and for the record, you call that last pone a good picture, “my 99 year old…….” I am joking. Just had to throw it in.

  2. You’re a chef?! How cool; never met a Kenyan chef before. I’m studying in a similar course. Where do you live?

Leave a Reply

